home > prizes

Magnetic Resonance Prizes

The Russell Varian Prize

The Russell Varian prize honors the memory of the pioneer behind the first commercial Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectrometers and co-founder of Varian Associates. The prize is awarded to a researcher based on a single innovative contribution (a single paper, patent, lecture, or piece of hardware) that has proven of high and broad impact on state-of-the-art NMR technology. The prize aims to award the initial contribution that laid the ground for the specific technology of great importance in state-of-the-art NMR. It is sponsored by Agilent Technologies and carries a monetary award of 15,000 Euro. The award ceremony will take place at the EUROMAR 2011 meeting in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, August 21-25, 2011, with the Prize winner delivering the Russell Varian Lecture. Russell Varian Prize Laureate 2011.

The Raymond Andrew Prize

The AMPERE Bureau has founded the Raymond Andrew Prize in memory of Professor Dr. Raymond Andrew and to honor his pioneering work in the field of magnetic resonance. The prize is awarded to young scientists for an outstanding PhD thesis in magnetic resonance and will be presented during the EUROMAR 2011 meeting in Frankfurt am Main, Germany.

The MRC Wiley Prize

The Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry Award for Young Scientists sponsored by the John Wiley & Sons through its Journal "Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry" is awarded to outstanding researchers under the age of 40 working with NMR spectroscopy in analytical chemistry within industry or academia in any part of the world. The winners of the 2011 MRC Young Scientist Award will be presented at the EUROMAR 2011 conference in Frankfurt am Main and will give a Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry Award Lecture.

Ernst Award

The Ernst Awards will be presented during the Annual Meeting of the Magnetic Resonance Discussion Group of the German Chemical Society, which in 2011 joins the EUROMAR conference and involve a lecture by the winners. Candidates should be Ph.D. students on the basis of their genuine published work; the candidate's name should be first on the authors' list. The papers must have been refereed and accepted by an international scientific journal.

International EPR/ESR Society (IES) Awards

At the Society annual meetings awards for research in various areas are presented. Nominations - 2011 are invited for: Gold Medal, Silver Medal for Instrumentation and Young Investigator Award. A Silver Medal shall be awarded for significant contributions to EPR (ESR) Spectroscopy in the area of Biology/Medicine or Chemistry. A Young Investigator Award shall be made for outstanding contributions to EPR (ESR) Spectroscopy by a young scientist.

The Ulderico Segre Prize

Ulderico Segre (1946-2008) was an Italian scientist whose research activity greatly contributed to the advancement of theoretical and computational modeling applied to magnetic spectroscopies. To honour his memory, and on behalf of the Segre family, GIRSE is proud to advertise the Ulderico Segre Prize. The Prize will be awarded for an outstanding doctoral thesis during the EUROMAR 2011 meeting in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, August 21-25, 2011.. Eligible theses must discuss theoretical and computational models and advanced methodologies for magnetic resonance spectroscopies.

designed by Petrus