• The Russell Varian Prize

• Raymond Andrew Prize


The Russell Varian Prize 2009

The Russell Varian prize honors the memory of the pioneer behind the first commercial Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectrometers and co-founder of Varian Associates. The prize is awarded to a researcher based on a single innovative contribution (a single paper, patent, lecture, or piece of hardware) that has proven of high and broad impact on state-of-the-art NMR technology. The prize aims to award the initial contribution that laid the ground for the specific technology of great importance in state-of-the-art NMR. It is sponsored by Varian Inc. and carries a monetary award of 15,000 Euro. The award ceremony will take place at the EUROMAR 2009 meeting in Göteborg, Sweden, July 5-9, 2009.

Rules for the Russell Varian Prize
• Only single pieces of work are considered (a paper, a lecture, a patent, etc).
• In case of multiple authorship, the prize is awarded to the author with the largest creative and innovative share of the contribution. Only in exceptional cases of truly equal shares can the prize be split between two authors of the same contribution.
• No individual can receive the prize more than once.
• Prize winners become members of the Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize that evaluates future nominations and makes recommendations to the Prize Committee.

Call for Nominations
Nominations must be forwarded by email to the Secretary of the Prize Committee, Vladimir Sklenár, at The deadline for nominations is February 15, 2009. Nominations should be laid out in the format of a publishable laudatio proposal that in case of multiple authorship must include an outline of why the nominee is the most innovative author behind the paper. Attention is further drawn to the fact that the Russell Varian prize awards the earliest seed paper of an important technology rather than later more comprehensive and highly quoted papers.

Prize Committee 2009
Martin Billeter (EUROMAR 2009 representative), Christian Griesinger, Jean Jeener (Chairman), Eriks Kupce, Vladimír Sklenár (Secretary), and Ole W. Sørensen

Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize
Erwin Hahn, Nicolaas Bloembergen, John S. Waugh, Alfred G. Redfield, Alexander Pines

More information available here (pdf-file, 88 KB)

Raymond Andrew Prize 2009

Call for Nominations for the Raymond Andrew Prize for an outstanding PhD thesis in the field of magnetic resonance

For the Raymond Andrew Prize 2009 the AMPERE Prize Committee is seeking your help in searching for qualified candidates who completed their dissertation during the period of 2007/2008. The prize will be presented during the EUROMAR in Göteborg (Sweden) from 5th to 9th July 2009.

You are kindly invited to submit nominations by e-mail to:

Suggestions must be received by 15th February 2009 and should include the following documents:

• Nomination letter
• Curriculum vitae
• List of publications and presentations at conferences
• PhD thesis in PDF

The thesis should be written in English. In exceptional cases, the thesis may also be submitted in triplicate as a hardcopy to the AMPERE Secretariat. Submissions that arrive too late will automatically be transferred to the next year. The prize committee will reconsider excellent contributions for two years in a row.

For a list of past Andrew Prize winners see:

EUROMAR a division of the AMPERE society
Organizers © Euromar 2009
Pictures from Gothenburg